Web Browser Discussion - FlashPeak Online Forum

Web Browser Software Forum. Discuss FlashPeak software products: SlimBrowser, IntelliComplete, BlazeFtp, etc.
It is currently Thu Mar 23, 2017 8:12 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: New Window
PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 7:57 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 7:52 am
Posts: 1
Is it possible to open a web page in a new instance of SlimBrowser? Every page opens in the same browser instance. Does SlimBrowser support a startup command "-newwindow" like FireFox? Also, if the link in a web page has a target="xxx" in the href, why does SlimBrowser not open this link in a new instance?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Window
PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2009 8:30 am 
Offline
Advanced Member

Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:37 pm
Posts: 423
Location: Tampa Bay, FL
Why would you want to open a new instance instead of a new window? Image That doesn't make sense.

_________________
Hans
Image

Image
Image
My Cardomain site, featuring my Ãœbercharged 1997 Mazda MiataImage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Window
PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2009 4:32 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 4:29 pm
Posts: 2
I also would like to launch instances. I happen to have three monitors and I would like to launch a separate browser onto each monitor. Is there a command line switch or some other way to launch multiple instances of SB? Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Window
PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2009 3:55 am 
Offline
Advanced Member

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 8:56 am
Posts: 83
Have you tried File > New Browser?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Window
PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2009 10:07 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 4:29 pm
Posts: 2
I am aware of File->New Browser but what I would really like to do is on Startup, launch multiple copies of SB and have each instance open a specific group. For example, launch a "News Group" in one instance, a "Sports Group" in another instance and a "Weather Group" in a third instance. All you need is a -newwindow switch and the ability to pass a start page or group on the command line. For example, to open the "Sports Group" : Slimbrowser -newwindow sports.sgp


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Window
PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 1:16 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2016 12:54 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Boston MA
I hope I am on the correct thread-- which seems to have gone unanswered.

I am looking for an alternative Trident browser to replace IE. Currently, I am looking at SlimBrowser. It has features that are similar to the Classic Maxthon which I so miss. At any rate, my concern and a deal breaker is that I need to have multiple separate instances of SB.

I utilize a utility called DEXPOT http://dexpot.de/ which allows me to run multiple desktops simultaneously and allows for hotkeys to access them. I am able to configure where specific apps appear such as on all desktops, on a specific desktop or where launched.

Additionally, I use another utility: HotKeyz (described here: http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details/hotkeyz.html) The combination of these two utils allows me to switch desktops and launch programs without needing the mouse. Obviously, I use DEXPOT for various projects on specific desktops (currently, I am running seven desktops.)

Perhaps I have provided more info than necessary. At first blush, it would appear that it is NOT possible to launch more than one instance of SB. Is that so or am I missing something?

Thanks!

_________________
They that would exchange liberty for safety deserve neither.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Window
PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 6:34 pm 
Offline
Advanced Member

Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2003 9:39 pm
Posts: 985
Location: Las Vegas
Slimbrowser is a Trident Shell

It is capable of running as many instances of the Browser as you have memory to support it. As already posted in a reply it is possible to make this happen by using File:New Browser, it can also be done using the keyboard Ctrl-N. A third way is with a command line switch. Here is the information from the Slimbrowser Help file about switches.

SlimBrowser supports the following command line syntax:

sbframe.exe [switches] URL

-ni
Open a new instance of SlimBrowser. Without this option, SlimBrowser will pass the URL to an existing instance of SlimBrowser if another instance of SlimBrowser is already open.

-nosp
SlimBrowser will not open any start up pages or groups, including your homepage, in this session.

-fs
SlimBrowser will start in full screen mode.

_________________
Slimbrowser Demo Videos

Relationships are ours to make; we define them, day by day,
by who we choose to love and how we choose to love them.
And, by these choices, define ourselves. ~~~Richard N. Patterson


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Window
PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2016 1:26 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2016 12:54 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Boston MA
Thank you for your timely response!

I added the -nl switch to my HotKeyz Parameters tab for the SB hotkey and that solved my problem. I now realize that I could / should have researched this solution using the online help section. Now that I realize that SB will meet my minimum requirements, I will investigate SB's further abilities aggressively. Hopefully, this will be my replacement for IE 11 which has been driving me nuts with random auto-scrolling.

Thanks again for you help and certainly for your patience!

_________________
They that would exchange liberty for safety deserve neither.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New Window
PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2016 2:24 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 2:19 am
Posts: 2
I happen to have three monitors and I would like to launch a separate browser onto each monitor. Is there a command line switch or some other way to launch multiple instances of SB? Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group