Web Browser Discussion - FlashPeak Online Forum
https://www.slimbrowser.net/en/forum/

New Window
https://www.slimbrowser.net/en/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=5198
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Smithwick [ Fri Aug 14, 2009 7:57 am ]
Post subject:  New Window

Is it possible to open a web page in a new instance of SlimBrowser? Every page opens in the same browser instance. Does SlimBrowser support a startup command "-newwindow" like FireFox? Also, if the link in a web page has a target="xxx" in the href, why does SlimBrowser not open this link in a new instance?

Author:  Hans [ Thu Aug 20, 2009 8:30 am ]
Post subject:  Re: New Window

Why would you want to open a new instance instead of a new window? Image That doesn't make sense.

Author:  brucefan42 [ Tue Nov 10, 2009 4:32 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: New Window

I also would like to launch instances. I happen to have three monitors and I would like to launch a separate browser onto each monitor. Is there a command line switch or some other way to launch multiple instances of SB? Thanks.

Author:  EssBeeman [ Wed Nov 11, 2009 3:55 am ]
Post subject:  Re: New Window

Have you tried File > New Browser?

Author:  brucefan42 [ Wed Nov 11, 2009 10:07 am ]
Post subject:  Re: New Window

I am aware of File->New Browser but what I would really like to do is on Startup, launch multiple copies of SB and have each instance open a specific group. For example, launch a "News Group" in one instance, a "Sports Group" in another instance and a "Weather Group" in a third instance. All you need is a -newwindow switch and the ability to pass a start page or group on the command line. For example, to open the "Sports Group" : Slimbrowser -newwindow sports.sgp

Author:  aldenbaker [ Sat Jan 23, 2016 1:16 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: New Window

I hope I am on the correct thread-- which seems to have gone unanswered.

I am looking for an alternative Trident browser to replace IE. Currently, I am looking at SlimBrowser. It has features that are similar to the Classic Maxthon which I so miss. At any rate, my concern and a deal breaker is that I need to have multiple separate instances of SB.

I utilize a utility called DEXPOT http://dexpot.de/ which allows me to run multiple desktops simultaneously and allows for hotkeys to access them. I am able to configure where specific apps appear such as on all desktops, on a specific desktop or where launched.

Additionally, I use another utility: HotKeyz (described here: http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details/hotkeyz.html) The combination of these two utils allows me to switch desktops and launch programs without needing the mouse. Obviously, I use DEXPOT for various projects on specific desktops (currently, I am running seven desktops.)

Perhaps I have provided more info than necessary. At first blush, it would appear that it is NOT possible to launch more than one instance of SB. Is that so or am I missing something?

Thanks!

Author:  oftentired [ Sat Jan 23, 2016 6:34 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: New Window

Slimbrowser is a Trident Shell

It is capable of running as many instances of the Browser as you have memory to support it. As already posted in a reply it is possible to make this happen by using File:New Browser, it can also be done using the keyboard Ctrl-N. A third way is with a command line switch. Here is the information from the Slimbrowser Help file about switches.

SlimBrowser supports the following command line syntax:

sbframe.exe [switches] URL

-ni
Open a new instance of SlimBrowser. Without this option, SlimBrowser will pass the URL to an existing instance of SlimBrowser if another instance of SlimBrowser is already open.

-nosp
SlimBrowser will not open any start up pages or groups, including your homepage, in this session.

-fs
SlimBrowser will start in full screen mode.

Author:  aldenbaker [ Sun Jan 24, 2016 1:26 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: New Window

Thank you for your timely response!

I added the -nl switch to my HotKeyz Parameters tab for the SB hotkey and that solved my problem. I now realize that I could / should have researched this solution using the online help section. Now that I realize that SB will meet my minimum requirements, I will investigate SB's further abilities aggressively. Hopefully, this will be my replacement for IE 11 which has been driving me nuts with random auto-scrolling.

Thanks again for you help and certainly for your patience!

Author:  vron1212 [ Wed Sep 14, 2016 2:24 am ]
Post subject:  Re: New Window

I happen to have three monitors and I would like to launch a separate browser onto each monitor. Is there a command line switch or some other way to launch multiple instances of SB? Thanks.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 6 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/