Change to search engine

General discussion about SlimBrowser or general issues about web browser software

Moderator: SlimBrowser Forum Moderators

Post Reply
gklekeas
Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 7:27 am

Change to search engine

Post by gklekeas » Tue Jun 29, 2010 7:03 am

Dear All,

When I clicked on the search button on the standard toolbar (magnifying glass), I was getting Google as the search engine. Now, I am getting Ask.com.

Is there any way to change it?

Regards,
George

oftentired
Advanced Member
Posts: 910
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2003 9:39 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Change to search engine

Post by oftentired » Tue Jun 29, 2010 10:49 pm

Click the drop down box to the left of the search text area and select Google from the list of available search engines that drops down. It should remain selected after that.

gklekeas
Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 7:27 am

Re: Change to search engine

Post by gklekeas » Wed Jun 30, 2010 7:08 am

No, you misunderstood my question. I am not talking about the quick search facility on the right of the address bar. I am talking about the page you get when you click on the magnifying glass on the standard toolbar. From a quick look, it takes you to http://www.slib.com/redir.php?id=searchbtn so it looks like we have no control over it (I believe in the last version you were just redirectered to http://www.google.com).

I assume it is hardcoded into the executable (if I recall correcly it is built in Visual C++) but it would be nice to have a way of deciding which search engine you want to use (or is it a marketing agreement between SlimBroswer and Ask.com)?

Could someone please clarify these points - I am addicted to the magnifying glass for searches and I would hate to stop using SlimBrowser after three years, as I believe it is the best browser in the market?

Regards,
George

flashpeak
Advanced Member
Posts: 342
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2003 5:26 pm

Re: Change to search engine

Post by flashpeak » Wed Jun 30, 2010 12:32 pm

George, Thanks for your feedback. I will add an option for it in the next build.
gklekeas wrote:No, you misunderstood my question. I am not talking about the quick search facility on the right of the address bar. I am talking about the page you get when you click on the magnifying glass on the standard toolbar. From a quick look, it takes you to http://www.slib.com/redir.php?id=searchbtn so it looks like we have no control over it (I believe in the last version you were just redirectered to http://www.google.com).

I assume it is hardcoded into the executable (if I recall correcly it is built in Visual C++) but it would be nice to have a way of deciding which search engine you want to use (or is it a marketing agreement between SlimBroswer and Ask.com)?

Could someone please clarify these points - I am addicted to the magnifying glass for searches and I would hate to stop using SlimBrowser after three years, as I believe it is the best browser in the market?

Regards,
George
Stephen Cheng
FlashPeak Support
Email: support AT flashpeak.com

flashpeak
Advanced Member
Posts: 342
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2003 5:26 pm

Re: Change to search engine

Post by flashpeak » Sun Jul 04, 2010 10:39 am

In Build 031, I've added option to change the search homepage. You can simply open whatever search engine you like first. Then you can drag the web page icon on the left end of the address bar to the search button on the toolbar. That will allow you to set the search homepage to anything you want.
Stephen Cheng
FlashPeak Support
Email: support AT flashpeak.com

gklekeas
Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 7:27 am

Re: Change to search engine

Post by gklekeas » Fri Jul 16, 2010 5:30 pm

flashpeak wrote:In Build 031, I've added option to change the search homepage. You can simply open whatever search engine you like first. Then you can drag the web page icon on the left end of the address bar to the search button on the toolbar. That will allow you to set the search homepage to anything you want.
Many thanks for that; just a clarification question. As you suggested, I opened up Google and then dragged the icon to the search engine icon on the toolbar. However, when I click on it, I do not get Google's page (as in version 4) but a Google page that says customised version... Why is that?

Also, on my Windows 7 (tested with XP as well) and IE8 installed, when I upgrade to the latest version all https pages simply do not open. In version 4, everything else equal, they open fine. Any ideas?

Regards,
George

oftentired
Advanced Member
Posts: 910
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2003 9:39 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Change to search engine

Post by oftentired » Sat Jul 17, 2010 5:40 am

gklekeas wrote:
flashpeak wrote:In Build 031, I've added option to change the search homepage. You can simply open whatever search engine you like first. Then you can drag the web page icon on the left end of the address bar to the search button on the toolbar. That will allow you to set the search homepage to anything you want.
Many thanks for that; just a clarification question. As you suggested, I opened up Google and then dragged the icon to the search engine icon on the toolbar. However, when I click on it, I do not get Google's page (as in version 4) but a Google page that says customised version... Why is that?
Flashpeak will have to answer this if you want an authoritative answer. I can say that I know recently Google made certain changes to their search engine pages changing how they are "remotely" accessed. It may be a result of that change.
gklekeas wrote:Also, on my Windows 7 (tested with XP as well) and IE8 installed, when I upgrade to the latest version all https pages simply do not open. In version 4, everything else equal, they open fine. Any ideas?
This should be presented as a New Topic in the bug report forum.
Slimbrowser Demo Videos

Relationships are ours to make; we define them, day by day,
by who we choose to love and how we choose to love them.
And, by these choices, define ourselves. ~~~Richard N. Patterson

gklekeas
Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 7:27 am

Re: Change to search engine

Post by gklekeas » Sat Jul 17, 2010 1:50 pm

Thanks oftentired, thought it had to do with the code. I just assumed that if you get the original Google page in version 4, it should be the case as well in version 5. If Flashpeak could clarify that, it would be great.

Regards,
George

flashpeak
Advanced Member
Posts: 342
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2003 5:26 pm

Re: Change to search engine

Post by flashpeak » Fri Jul 30, 2010 2:43 pm

I can't actually produce the issue you mentioned. Did you update to the latest build? After you drop the URL sucessfully, you should get a confirmation message dialog. Did you see that message at all?

gklekeas wrote:
flashpeak wrote:In Build 031, I've added option to change the search homepage. You can simply open whatever search engine you like first. Then you can drag the web page icon on the left end of the address bar to the search button on the toolbar. That will allow you to set the search homepage to anything you want.
Many thanks for that; just a clarification question. As you suggested, I opened up Google and then dragged the icon to the search engine icon on the toolbar. However, when I click on it, I do not get Google's page (as in version 4) but a Google page that says customised version... Why is that?

Also, on my Windows 7 (tested with XP as well) and IE8 installed, when I upgrade to the latest version all https pages simply do not open. In version 4, everything else equal, they open fine. Any ideas?

Regards,
George
Stephen Cheng
FlashPeak Support
Email: support AT flashpeak.com

sgeri.hu
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 6:20 pm

Re: Change to search engine

Post by sgeri.hu » Wed Aug 04, 2010 6:43 pm

gklekeas wrote:No, you misunderstood my question. I am not talking about the quick search facility on the right of the address bar. I am talking about the page you get when you click on the magnifying glass on the standard toolbar. From a quick look, it takes you to http://www.slib.com/redir.php?id=searchbtn so it looks like we have no control over it (I believe in the last version you were just redirectered to http://www.google.com).
Sorry do not speak perfect English!
Completely the same problem as George!
5.00.60 version, click on the magnifying glass "http://search.flashpeak.com/?sbSource=searchbtn" link will appear! I'd like you normally would Google it, if possible "www.google.hu" or "www.google.com" I like the earlier versions it was!
Is there any solution??? Please help! Thank you in advance!

vertosto
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 5:53 am

Re: Change to search engine

Post by vertosto » Fri Sep 03, 2010 5:56 am

useful for me, thanks

chrisadam
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 12:47 am

Re: Change to search engine

Post by chrisadam » Wed Sep 08, 2010 12:51 am

Remember that Search button in the IE browser toolbar? If you haven't clicked on it already, click it. The "Search Companion" window will open up on the left side of your browser
You'll see a "Change Preferences" button about three-quarters of the way down the window. Click on it.
You will now see a window with the heading "How Do You Want To Use Search Companion?" You want to click the arrow that says "Change Internet Search behavior."
After you click the arrow, you'll be taken to the Internet Search Behavior window. There are two radio buttons to choose from. The first one gives you the option of continuing to search with Search Companion, or search with Classic Internet Search. Neither one give you any more screen real estate, so it is entirely up to you.
Below these Search Behavior options, you'll see the box with various search engines listed. Just click on the one you want, and that's the one that Search Companion will search with.


_________________________________________________________

Want to get-on Google's first page and loads of traffic to your website? Hire a SEO specialist from Ocean Groups seo specialist

vaiybora
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 3:59 pm

Re: Change to search engine

Post by vaiybora » Thu Aug 16, 2018 12:52 am

Wow !!! absolutely fantastic topic. I am very glad to have such useful information.

ดูหนังออนไลน์

Post Reply