Web Browser Discussion - FlashPeak Online Forum

Web Browser Software Forum. Discuss FlashPeak software products: SlimBrowser, IntelliComplete, BlazeFtp, etc.
It is currently Fri Apr 20, 2018 4:06 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Freezing site
PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2013 8:51 am 
Why is it that one certain site--in this case, CNN.com/mney--totally freezes SlimBrowser? I can easily get it on Oper and Google Chrome and IE, and it willingly tells me about the Stock Market, and one click makes it say goodbye.

In SlimBrower, I get the info, but it takes control of the computer and it takes a dozen Control/Alt/Deletes before it disappears? I can excuse it if SlimBrowser has a Socialist distaste fo capitalism, but metninks it's something less worthy, more buggy.

Any way to help this?

thanks,
Harry


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Freezing site
PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2013 8:57 am 
PS. I notice that the compuser freezing with a few other sites as well. I put on a Huffington Post article and the machne froze up.

Is this fixable?

Thanks again


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Freezing site
PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2013 3:56 pm 
Offline
Advanced Member

Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2003 9:39 pm
Posts: 997
Location: Las Vegas
I went to cnn money and could not duplicate the issue.

Can you be more specific about what you click, if anything, on the webpage after you get to the money page at cnn?

also

please click Help:Configuration Information... and then copy paste the info to a reply.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Freezing site
PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2013 5:28 pm 
Thank you so much. My hard disk had suicidal crash last week, and though most everythiing is back (I had studiously backed up all the data/text), I am still having a few minor problems.

Like this one. I put on www.money.cnn.com, the screen comes up right away with my information. But when I try to turn it off, the whole computer freezes. I can usually do contal/alt/delete several times, and it will be okay. Or sometimes I have waited 10 minutes and it will straighten out.

On other browsers (Opera, Google Chrome), all is satisfactory. But I do like SlimBrowser for its terrific screen.

Here is the configuaration information. I couldn't get it under that CNN program since the screen froze, but here it is under this message.



***OS Version Information***
-Major Version: 5
-Minor Version: 1
-Build Number: 2600
-Platform: Windows XP
-CSDVersion: Service Pack 3
-Bit Width:32

SlimBrowser Version: 7.00.040
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
SlimBrowser Interface Language:English (US)
Default OS Language:English (US)
Max Number of Tabs Per Process:50
Preload rendering process:1
Default rendering mode:6

***IE Toolbars***
Visible IE Toolbars
Invisible IE Toolbars
-AVG SafeGuard toolbar
-WhiteSmoke New Toolbar


***IE BHOs***

***Hardware configuration***
CPU0:AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 435 Processor
CPU1:AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 435 Processor
CPU2:AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 435 Processor
Total Memory:3070MB

***Critical Path Information***
-Installation Folder: C:\Program Files\SlimBrowser\
-Profile Path: C:\Program Files\SlimBrowser\appdata\sbrowser.ini
-Favorite Folder: C:\Program Files\SlimBrowser\Favorites
-Links Folder: C:\Program Files\SlimBrowser\Favorites\Links
-Application Data Folder: C:\Program Files\SlimBrowser\appdata\
-QuickSearch Folder: C:\Program Files\SlimBrowser\appdata\quicksearch\

***Ad-Blocker Information***
-Popup Blocker:1
-Ad Blocker:0

***Download Options***
-Script:1
-ActiveX:1
-Flash:1

***Search engine information***
-Default quick search engine:Google (custom)
-Address bar search engine:Google (Custom)

***Misc Info***
-Number of assigned site names:0


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Freezing site
PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2013 8:05 pm 
Offline
Advanced Member

Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2003 9:39 pm
Posts: 997
Location: Las Vegas
I am assuming prior to you big crash that Slimbrowser displayed the webpages without issues.

go to Tools:Options:Advanced
change max number of tabs per process to 1
checkmark the box next to "Switch process when resource limit is reached" if not already checked
OK out of there
close Slimbrowser
restart


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Freezing site
PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2013 8:07 pm 
Offline
Advanced Member

Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2003 9:39 pm
Posts: 997
Location: Las Vegas
and now the Whitesmoke Toolbar, again I make an assumption in this case that you did not deliberately do this

follow the instructions to remove it

http://malwaretips.com/blogs/remove-whitesmoke-toolbar/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Freezing site
PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2013 9:15 pm 
That seemed to work wonderfully. Many thanks. I'm quite certain that little problems will pop up, but with wonderful people like you around, I don't feel that I'm wandering in a dark alley.

Harry :D


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group