Web Browser Discussion - FlashPeak Online Forum

Web Browser Software Forum. Discuss FlashPeak software products: SlimBrowser, IntelliComplete, BlazeFtp, etc.
It is currently Fri Apr 20, 2018 12:51 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 127 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2009 6:00 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2003 9:27 pm
Posts: 2
I have also noticed this behavior for some time now. Random sites, and for me it seems to occur more when I'm in a site where I'm filling out forms, or typing in a form window. I just tried to post a Feedback comment and the bloody thing froze up 3 times.

When it freezes up I can't click on tabs, or any other link or feature. Clicking on the task bar button elicits a 'Tonk' sound, but nothing else. Opening task Manager shows it's running, but clicking Switch To does nothing. I was filling out an online job application that had multiple essay questions and the browser would lock up 2 or three times for each answer box. It's maddening, and an application form that should have taken me about 30 min to fill out, about 10 Essay type questions too, me almost 2 hours. I would have changed to another browser except I was afraid if I aborted the session it would not register properly on the job site, so I cursed and screamed and banged on the slimbrowser button on the taskbar until I almost broke the mouse left click button,

I thought, OK, maybe it's an issue with the IE browser, so I upgraded to IE7. Made no difference. I've let IE8 alone for a few months since it came out, but thought, OK, maybe it's IE7, so I upgraded to IE8. No difference.
Slimbrowser V4.11 Build 029 Toshiba Satellite Laptop, less than one year old, Windows XP Pro Media Centre edition, SP3 Fully Patched, 2GB Ram, 150GB HDD. Running AVG Free 8.x fully updated. I have had this issue with no other browser AND I don't have this issue with IE8. I would far rather use Slimbrowser though, particularly for the groups function. What else can be done, it's impossible to use it like this!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2009 6:40 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 7:02 pm
Posts: 26
Location: Ploiesti, Romania
When it happens again, try pressing left Alt key, maybe it's a dialog box that pops up behind the main window; pressing Alt should bring it to front.

What's driving me crazy is some (useless, for me) security "feature" of IE that keeps popping a dialog box asking if I wanna allow both secure and nonsecure items to be displayed, when logging into GMail and the MSFN forums board. I've tried fiddling with the IE Options panel, to no avail. Either I'm missing something or IE6 is intended to drive users mad. :(


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 04, 2009 8:52 am 
Offline
Advanced Member

Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:37 pm
Posts: 423
Location: Tampa Bay, FL
Drugwash wrote:
...or IE6 is intended to drive users mad. :(
You DEFINITELY need to upgrade to IE7 or IE8. :?

_________________
Hans
Image

Image
Image
My Cardomain site, featuring my Ãœbercharged 1997 Mazda MiataImage


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 04, 2009 11:35 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 7:02 pm
Posts: 26
Location: Ploiesti, Romania
I'll wait until MS release a Win9x-compatible version of either. ;-)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 3:04 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 11:45 am
Posts: 2
On the other hand, my Firefox 3.0.1 started always hanging when I tried to log in to BigFishGames (CPU 99% forever until rather laboriously killed).. SB does it fast, no muss, no fuss.

_________________
http://www.spywareinfoforum.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2009 11:25 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 3:59 am
Posts: 1
Yeah I have faced same problem while accessing internet. When I opened a site, SB freezes until that page load, sometimes it may take more than 5 minutes. I am not able to view already loaded pages.
This has been happening with firebox also. It is getting to be seriously irritating and I did not get any satisfactory solution to this problem also did not find exact reason to face such problem. Sometimes I have to close my firebox containing that window.
Regards
Kristain Miller


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2015 4:29 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2015 4:14 am
Posts: 3
@ BlackFireNova: End the process tree and re open it again that could be helpful.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 127 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group